Most wanted

Sheriff Sale

Weapons Permit

Weapons Permit

Iowa Vine

Weapon Permits

The Dubuque County Sheriff's Office is open Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm.

Weapons permits may be applied for online with the option to pay using a credit or debit card. There is a convenience fee for all credit or debit card processing or you may opt to pay by cash or check in our office with no additional fee. Prior to processing, all applications will require that you provide a photo ID, proof of residency (a Driver's License or State issued ID used as a photo ID, which was issued at least 30 days prior to the date of application, will satisfy this requirement), and proof of firearms training if you are applying for a Permit to Carry Concealed. Renewal applications are exempt from the firearms training requirement. You will be prompted to upload this documentation at the time of application.

Dubuque County Residents may also apply at the kiosk in the outer lobby of the Dubuque Law Enforcement Center located at 770 Iowa St. Dubuque, Iowa 52001. Prior to Processing, an additional visit to the office to provide all required documentation as listed above will be necessary if these were not provided at the time of application.



How do I obtain a Permit to Carry?

You may submit an application online at Online Permit to Carry or by clicking on the icon above.

*Please note that the Online Permit to Carry website uses the following browsers: IE 9 or higher, Firefox, Safari, or Chrome.

If you choose not to apply online, you may apply at our kiosk in the outer lobby of the Dubuque Law Enforcement Center located at 770 Iowa St. Dubuque, Iowa 52001.

All applicants will be required to provide a valid email address to communicate the status of your application. You will be notified via email, text message, or voice message whether your application has been approved or denied. Prior to processing you will be required to provide a valid state issued driver's license or identification card and your training documentation from a NRA accredited instructor obtained within the 24 months prior to application or a DD214 showing your discharge as Honorable or as General Under Honorable Conditions. Active Military personnel may also use documentation of their weapons training from Basic Training or provide proof of their Weapons Qualifications status taken within the calendar year prior to the date of permit application. (All required documentation can also be scanned and uploaded during the online application process). If your state issued ID or Driver's License does not match your current address, you must also provide proof of residency in Dubuque County for at least thirty (30) days. This proof can be in the form of any official mail (Bank or Utility) which has been mailed in your name and to your current Dubuque County address some time more than 30 days prior to your application date. Vehicle Registrations, Rental or Mortgage agreements, and Voter Registration cards which show your address within Dubuque County and a date which is at least 30 days prior to the date of application will also be accepted.

You may check the status of your application online at APPLICATION TRACKER.

A new Permit to Carry requires a fee of $50.00 and is valid for five years from the date of issue.

The Renewal of a current Permit to Carry requires a fee of $25.00 and is valid for five years from the date of issue. Applications for renewals may be submitted anytime from 30 days prior to expiration to 30 days after the expiration of your current permit. The Renewal Permit no longer requires that you provide documentation from a refresher firearms training course or qualification on a firing range. Persons wishing to obtain a renewal who have missed the 60-day renewal period must apply as a new applicant. No new training documentation is required.

A Duplicate permit may be obtained if a valid Permit to Carry has been lost or stolen. This permit requires a fee of $25.00. Permits are issued using the original date of issuance after a complete background check has been completed.

Complete information regarding the new law which went into effect on January 1, 2011, including the training requirements, can be found on the following link: State information on obtaining and carrying permits.

How do I obtain a Permit to Acquire Weapons?

You may submit an application online at ONLINE PERMIT TO ACQUIRE. or by clicking on the icon above.

*Please note that the Online Permit to Purchase/Acquire website uses the following browsers: IE 9 or higher, Firefox, Safari, or Chrome.

If you choose not to apply online, you may apply in person at our kiosk in the outer lobby of the Dubuque Law Enforcement Center at 770 Iowa St. All applicants will be required to provide a valid email address to communicate the status of your application. You will be notified via email, text message, or voice message whether your application has been approved or denied. Prior to processing you will be required to upload or to come in person to the Dubuque County Sheriff's Office located at 770 Iowa St. Dubuque, Iowa 52001, with a valid state issued driver's license or identification card. If your state issued ID or Driver's License does not match your current address, you must also provide proof of residency in Dubuque County for at least thirty (30) days. This proof can be in the form of official mail (Bank or Utility) which has been mailed in your name and to your current Dubuque County address some time more than 30 days prior to your application date. Vehicle Registrations, Rental or Mortgage agreements, and Voter Registration cards which show your address within Dubuque County and a date which is at least 30 days prior to the date of application will also be accepted.

A Permit to Acquire requires a fee of $25.00 and is valid for five years from the date of issue. There is no renewal or duplicate process for Permits to Acquire. Applicants requiring a new permit should apply as new.

You may check the status of your application online at APPLICATION TRACKER.

Complete information regarding the new law which went into effect on January 1, 2011, including the training requirements, can be found on the following link: State information on obtaining and carrying permits.

For more information, please call 563-589-4412.